July 13: What’s for Lunch?

001We went into town early this morning to get water at Fred Meyer.  We passed a popular rib place on the way, and I just had to have a picture of this flower pot tree.  I don’t know if they made it or bought it, but I think it is really nice.  I should have had Jerry go out and take measurements.  I wouldn’t mind having one of these at home.  The smell of cooking ribs was not too shabby either…….006

I went into Fred Meyer for a pack of gum, and look what I found!!!!  I still bought the gum, too, but now dessert is looking really good.005

Unfortunately, before I can fix lunch and then sink my teeth into those doughnuts, I have to do laundry.  014

This poster is in the Laundromat.  I guess it gives the men something to think about while their clothes are drying.019The day just keeps getting more exciting!  We stopped by Jim’s garage to get something out of the freezer for tomorrow’s lunch.  We already have today’s menu ready.018

We are so fortunate to have the use of this freezer while we are here.   So far, it looks as if we have plenty of room for Jerry to catch lots more fish!005

The menu included some pan-seared salmon, stir-fried cabbage with onions and mung bean sprouts, and corn on the cob.  Now WHERE are those doughnuts??011

Agriculture Report:  Jerry’s tomato plant is doing great.  It has lots of blooms and even a couple of teensy, tiny tomatoes.  Everyone tells Jerry how much the moose is going to enjoy them.  Folks around here have to put 8′ fences around their gardens to keep the moose out.  001

After lunch, we went down to the river so Jerry could fish. I wonder why all these other people parked the wrong way?  😉010

These folks all went down to the river with Jerry to catch salmon this afternoon.   We  are still waiting on the huge Second Run which begins anywhere from July 17 to July 25, depending upon who you ask. How much fish can two people eat while on vacation in Alaska??????

1 comment
  1. Marilyn said:

    The flowers are amazing. I bought a pot of petunias at HEB in the spring and then received another for Mother’s Day, have thrown both away. They had bugs and I could not get rid of them. I think petunias like the cooler weather.

Leave a Reply

