July 23: The Refuge tour continues…..

033

This is the trail that we had intended to stroll down.  However, there were no guided tours yesterday, and the rangers strongly urged us not to go by ourselves.032

The trail was bordered on both sides by this type of dense vegetation, and of course, the air was thick with mosquitos.  That wasn’t too tempting.025

The sign Jerry is pointing to is the main reason that we didn’t hike the trail.  There have even been problems in town with bears killing pets and chickens.  No wonder they don’t want you to take your pets on the trail.  The bears would have said, “Aw right!  Lunch is served!”026

We did go a short distance down a side trail to visit this old settler’s cabin.  I think the man came to Alaska from Scandinavia in about 1895.027

This is a photo (of a photo) of the cabin’s interior.  I cannot imagine spending the cold, dark winter months in something like this.  It would take a hardier soul than I to make it through the winter without going bonkers.029

This is the same cabin in 1937.  It still looks a little dreary to me.031

This is the door of Berg’s cabin.  (I started to say, “front door”, but there is only ONE door.)  Either Berg was pretty short, or he had to bend over to go in and out.  035

After we left the wildlife refuge, we went by Centennial Park to check out the fishing.  While Jerry got the “daily report” of who was catching what and when, I wandered around taking photos.  These two cuties were waiting for their owners in the back of a pickup.  Judging by the size of the chain that is being used to restrain them, I was thinking that they may not have been wanting to cuddle with a stranger so I kept a respectful distance.  However, do you see the color of the eyes of the dog on the right?  They are sky blue!  I guess there must be some malamute blood in him.038

Both of these pups remind me of ones we have had the pleasure to own (or be owned by) in the past.  All of our dogs have loved riding in the front of the boat with the wind blowing their ears back.  Of course, the wind was also blowing the dog slobber back!  (This boat wasn’t going nearly fast enough for our pooches.) Those were the days!  God willing, it won’t be much longer until I will be wiping off the dog slobber again. I know some of you are going, “Ewww!”  But trust me, there are lots worse things to wipe off than dog slobber, and after over 60 years of kissing dogs, I am still here to talk about it.

Today we went to a WONDERFUL museum here in town called the Homestead Museum.  It is located on the short road to Centennial Park.  It’s a free museum, but we had a $50 experience!  The woman who gave us a tour (over two hours!) knew everything there was to know about the history of this area.  I took dozens of photos, which I will start to share tomorrow.  Her name was Carol, but I didn’t get a last name.  Kudos to her for making our tour so enjoyable!

Also, while we were in Fred Meyer yesterday, a young woman was telling us about making Fireweed Honey.  She told me the basics, but I want to look it up to see what else I can find out.  Has anyone out there heard of it?

2 comments
  1. Pat said:

    Glad you two decided against going down the trail alone. I get scared just thinking about running ino a bear!!

  2. Barb H. said:

    Yeah, bears and mosquitos are an Alaska traditiion. 😉 Interesting that the door on the cabin open in, most of them are made to open out so the bears can’t push them so easily. Looks like the weather is still great. Enjoy while you can. There are heat index warnings in the lower 48 from Florida to Az!!!!

Leave a Reply

